The Journey to College

As the most of my peers, I have been asking myself a question, what is it really I want out of my life? This question has not only been bothering me, but also many college students who are trying to figure out the path which will lead them to their comfortable life. One might ask, what is that comfort that we all are striving for? Is it a state of mind or is it some unknown world that we are so eager to enter? Well, it varies from person to person. It depends on the life that the person has left behind when the decision to go to college was made. I for one would like to obtain a higher standard of leaving, greater education, and fulfill a long time goal of being a pharmacist.

So many years has gone by since the first day I was taken to school by my cousin brother. It was a whole new experience for me. It was as if I have seen a new world made out of so many kids that are dressed alike. Before I knew, I was taken in to a classroom along with many other kids. This was a new era in my life. As I can remember, “What do you like to be doing with your life?” was the first question I was asked. “I would like to become a Pharmacist,” I responded back. Many more years has gone by since the magic question. I have not forgotten my response to what has been bothering me for so many years. There wasn’t a day I tried to make sense out of my own response to the question that I was once asked. At the time, I did the best of my ability to work toward my Personal Goal. Now, almost thirty years later, I am still asking myself the same question. However, many different things have shaped my life during the last eight years.

I moved to the U.S.A in 2001 from India. When I got here, I didn’t know what to do. Anywhere I went people were talking in different languages. I remember the first day of high school, I had no friends, no one to talk to, and didn’t know where to go. I also didn’t know how to communicate with other people so that I could make friends. However, it was an effort to make some friends and learn English at the same time. I am thankful for my friends because they used to correct me when I mispronounced some words. Now, as a college student, I am living “two” normal lives in this country to further my goals by both working 50-60 hours a week and attending college full time. I came to college to improve my English so that I can communicate effectively and to pursue my major in pharmacy.

In the process earning a Pharmacist Degree, I had completed my High School, By this time, I was financially unstable and soon enough, I was not able to continue with my education. Therefore, I planned on returning to school when I no longer had any financial instability. It took me many months before I found a career opportunity with an employer.  I now had a job that not only paid great, but also put me in to a career path that I always have admired. This was a chance of a lifetime. I now had the money and the time to follow up with my long time Goal.

Leave a comment